Taiwan

SSpS Mission in Taiwan – The Beginning

The first two SSpS Sisters to set foot on Taiwan soil were Sr. Otgerina Luters and Sr. Euphemiana Schenk. Both were former China missionaries, who arrived from the Philippines on December 18, 1953.  

 

The first years saw a rapid increase in the number of sisters. First, the former China missionaries, who had been dispersed to other countries after the take-over of the Communists of Mainland China, were sent to Taiwan. In 1958, the first new young missionaries, Sr. Athanasia and Sr. Celiana came from Germany. New missionaries kept coming also in the following years.

On September 8, 1965, was the first investment of a Chinese sister, but she was still sent to the Philippines for the novitiate.

On October 3, 1966, two postulants entered. They were the first to receive their formation here in Taiwan. They were followed by a number of other local vocations.

In the first years, the sisters were kept on the move. From the small place in Ta Tung Rd., only rented for them by the Jesuits, they soon moved into a house on Bei Da Rd. Since this house was much too small for the growing number of sisters, they built a second house in the same Japanese style. After the kindergarten was built, a number of sisters went across the street every evening for their night-rest there. In the early years, the kindergarten also served as the parish church. In 1960 the new Holy Spirit Convent opposite the kindergarten became a home for one community of sisters. The original house became the St. Joseph's Convent. But also his house was later replaced with a new building strong enough to resist the many typhoons that roar across the island every year. Attached to the convent, a dispensary and a sewing school were built. The sisters were involved in various activities: teaching religion, preparing for baptism, treating the sick in the dispensary and also visiting them in their homes, helping the poor, teaching sewing, and taking care of the vestments of the increasing number of parishes in Hsinchu.

The sisters living in the Holy Spirit Convent were mainly engaged in the teaching apostolate. After the kindergarten, they opened a high school in 1960. A year later, Mgr. Fahy asked the sisters to take over the Primary School he had built opposite the first St. Joseph Convent.

God's blessing accompanied the work of the sisters. They could sow the seed of faith into many hearts and the Church grew rapidly in those early years.

​台灣

SSpS 在台灣的使命
—— 開始

最早踏上台灣土地的兩位聖神婢女傳教會修女是 Sr. Otgerina Luters 和 Sr. Euphemiana Schenk。兩人都是前中國傳教士,於 1953 年 12 月 18 日從菲律賓抵達。  

 

頭幾年修女的數量迅速增加。首先,是中國共產黨接管中國大陸後分散到其他國家的前中國傳教士被派往台灣。 1958 年,第一批新的年輕傳教士 Athanasia 神父和 Celiana 神父來自德國。在接下來的幾年裡,新的傳教士也不斷湧入。

1965年9月8日,是第一位入會的中國籍修女,但她還是被派往菲律賓進行初學。

1966 年 10 月 3 日,兩名候選人進入。他們是第一批在台灣接受培育的人。緊隨其後的是其他一些當地聖召。

在最初的幾年裡,修女們一直在搬家。她們從大同路那塊只有耶穌會士租用的小地方,很快就搬進了北大路的一所房子。由於這所房子對於越來越多的修女來說太小了,他們建造了第二間同樣日式風格的房子。幼兒園建成後,每天晚上都有好幾個路過的修女在那裡過夜。早年,幼兒園也同時也是教區教堂。 1960 年,幼兒園對面的新聖神婢女傳教修道院成為一個修女團體的家。原來的房子變成了聖若瑟修道院。但這房子後來也被一座強度足以抵禦每年許多在島上咆哮的颱風的新建築所取代。而且,還建造了藥房和縫紉學校附屬於修道。修女們參與了各種活動:傳教、準備洗禮、在藥房治療病人並到他們家探望、幫助窮人、教縫紉、照顧新竹市堂區越來越多的入會者。

住在聖神婢女傳教修道院的修女主要從事傳教的教導。在創建幼兒園後,他們於 1960 年開設了一所高中。一年後,Fahy校長要求修女們接管他在第一座聖若瑟修道院對面建造的小學。天主的祝福伴隨著修女們的工作。她們可以將信仰的種子播撒到許多人的心中,教會也在那些早期的歲月裡迅速成長。