Our Roots

SSpS Steyl
SSpS Steyl
SSpS Mother House - Steyl
1903 Sacred Heart
1889 Capuchin Monastery
1890 Notre Dame
1888 Three Linden
1892 First 16 Received Habit
Arnold Janssen SVD - SSpS' Founder

FOUNDER
 
Arnold Janssen
 

A man of vibrant faith and missionary zeal

“Vivat Deus Unus et Trinus in Cordibus Nostris” – “May the holy Triune God live in our hearts and in the hearts of all people” is the prayer motto of Arnold Janssen, which becomes the driving force behind his missionary zeal.

 

He is a man deeply rooted in God, and the mystery of the Blessed Trinity takes hold of him completely. His personal and profound experience of the Blessed Trinity leads him to the awareness of an indwelling God, who is communion and is in every person and in all creation. This experience stimulates him to dedicate his whole life to sharing God's mission – to making the compassionate love of God known to all people.


Father Arnold was canonized by Pope John Paul II on 05 October 2003 together with Joseph Freinademetz, one of the first SVDaries to China.

Maria Helena Stollenwerk - SSpS' Co-Founderess

CO-FOUNDERESS

 

Mother Maria, Helena Stollenwerk 

Unconditional surrender to God's will

“To God the honor, to my Sisters the benefit and to myself the burden” , writes Helena Stollenwerk in her notes; “This is to be my motto and also my earnest goal.” She strives for this day by day, even to the point of sacrificing her dearest dream and her heart's desire to go to China, to save 'poor souls' and bring them to God in the Sacrament of Baptism.

 

Imbued with the missionary spirit, she transfers to the cloister where she remains in constant adoration, deep silence and prayer with the Beloved, coming to the awareness that it is not an idea that calls, but God himself. We need not look for an ideal when God calls; instead, we need to discover who and what we really are, and where and how we can be a blessing for others. This is what she stands for, becoming a blessing in every situation of her life – the true meaning of being a missionary today.


Mother Maria was beatified in Rome on 07 May 1995 by Pope John Paul II.

Josepha Hendrina Stenmans - SSpS' Co-Founderess

CO-FOUNDERESS

 

Mother Josepha,  

Hendrina Stenmanns

"Both feet on the ground,

heart anchored in God!”

Every breath of a Servant of the Holy Spirit is to be – “Veni Sancte Spiritus” . Hendrina Stenmanns, whose longing is to be a missionary, writes to Arnold Janssen, “I desire nothing more than, with the grace of God to be the least and to offer myself as a sacrifice for the work of spreading the faith.”

 

Her “breath” becomes the life-giving Spirit, who directs every action, word and deed; she radiates her missionary presence of peace, warmth and joy to every person she encounters. She becomes one of the least, giving herself, her very being and her life, thereby laying a solid foundation for the beginning of the Mission Congregation of the Servants of the Holy Spirit.


Mother Josepha was beatified in 2008 by Pope Benedict XVI. The Church celebrated the beatification on 29 June 2008, when the papal decree confirming the beatification was read by Cardinal José Saraiva Martins CMF, Prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints, during the celebration of a special Mass in Tegelen, Netherlands.

我們的根

SSpS Steyl
SSpS Steyl
SSpS Mother House - Steyl
1903 Sacred Heart
1889 Capuchin Monastery
1890 Notre Dame
1888 Three Linden
1892 First 16 Received Habit
Arnold Janssen SVD - SSpS' Founder

創始人

楊生·愛諾德

一個充滿活力的信仰和傳教熱情的人

“Vivat Deus Unus et Trinus in Cordibus Nostris”——「願聖潔的三位一體天主住在我們心中和所有人的心中」是楊生愛諾德的祈禱格言,這成為他傳教熱情背後的動力。

 

他是一個深深植根於天主的人,三位一體的奧秘完全佔據了他的心。他對那至聖三位一體的個人深刻體驗使他意識到在我們內的天主,祂是共融的,並且存在於每個人和所有受造物中。這種經歷激勵他將自己的一生奉獻給分享天主的使命——讓所有人都知道上主的慈悲之愛。


2003 年 10 月 5 日,教宗若望保祿二世將楊生神父與第一批到中國的聖言會傳教士之一福若瑟(Joseph Freinademetz) 一起封為聖人。

Maria Helena Stollenwerk - SSpS' Co-Founderess

聯合創始人

瑪利亞姆姆,施海倫 

無條件地順服上主的旨意

施海倫 (Helena Stollenwerk) 在她的筆記中寫道:「榮耀歸於天主,益處歸於我的姐妹們,負擔歸於我自己」。「這將是我的座右銘,也是我的殷切目標」。她日復一日地為之奮鬥,甚至不惜犧牲她最大的夢想和心願——去中國拯救「可憐的靈魂」,把他們帶到天主的洗禮聖事中。 

 

被傳教士的精神所感染的她,轉到了隱修院。在那裡,她不斷地朝拜、深沉的靜默和祈禱,意識到召喚她的不是一個想法,而是天主本身。當天主召喚時,我們不需要尋找一個理想;相反,我們需要發現我們到底是誰,以及我們的身份是什麼和如何能成為他人的祝福。這就是她所堅持的,在她生活的每一種情況下成為一種祝福——今天成為一名傳教士的真正意義。


1995 年 5 月 7 日,教宗若望保祿二世在羅馬將瑪利亞修女封為真福。

Josepha Hendrina Stenmans - SSpS' Co-Founderess

聯合創始人
 
若瑟法姆姆,史涵德

「雙腳著地,定心於主!」

 

聖神婢女的每一次呼吸都應該是——“Veni Sancte Spiritus”。渴望成為一名傳教士的史涵德 (Hendrina Stenmanns) 在給楊生·愛諾德 (Arnold Janssen) 的信中寫道:「我只希望在天主的恩典下成為最小的人,並為傳播信仰的工作獻上自己作為犧牲品。」

 

她的「呼吸」成為了指導著每一個行動、言行的賜生命之聖神;她向她遇到的每個人散發出她傳教士般的和平、溫暖和歡樂。她成為最小的人之一,獻出她自己、她的存在和她的生命,從而為聖神婢女傳教修會的開始奠定了堅實的基礎。


若瑟法姆姆於 2008 年被教宗本篤十六世封為真福。當時在荷蘭荷蘭特格倫舉行的特別彌撒上,冊封聖人部部長——聖母聖心愛子會的若瑟·薩拉依瓦·瑪爾定紅衣主教宣讀了確認封聖的教宗法令,於是教會於當日2008 年 6 月 29 日慶祝了宣福禮。