Holy spirit makes us DAUGHTERS and son OF GOD

Here's the first thing: We become sons and daughters of God.

Romans, chapter 8 is one of the most magnificent chapters in the entire New Testament. It's kind of like the Himalayas of the New Testament. It's a high point. And in Romans 8, verses 1 and 2, St Paul writes this: 'Therefore , there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.'

 

Jesus on the cross took all our sins — past, present, future . And he takes all of our sins and he buries them 'in the very depths of the sea', as the prophet Micah puts it. And that's where they're to stay. The slate is wiped completely clean the moment we come to Christ. And then something even more amazing happens: we become in this relationship with God — all of us are created by God but not everybody is living in this relationship like a son or a daughter with a parent . And this happens not by birth but by spiritual birth . And in chapter 8, verse 14-17 — if chapter 8 is the Himalayas, this is like Mount Everest! He says this — chapter 8, verse 14: '… because those who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God. For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption. And by him we cry, "Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we're God's children. And if we're children, then we're heirs — heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory .'

"Abba Father" is a word of a very close intimacy of relationship. It's a word that was distinctive to Jesus. Nowhere in the Old Testament is God referred to as Abba, but Jesus used it of his relationship with God.

 

We can have the same relationship. God can be your father . And then it's the deepest experience. People are looking, aren't they, for spiritual experiences and they look in all kinds of ways. Here is the deepest spiritual experience you can ever have — verse 16: 'The Spirit himself' — that's the Holy Spirit — 'testifies with our spirit that we are God's children. '

What Does the Holy Spirit Do?

DEVELOPING THE RELATIONSHIP

Holy Spirit helps us to develop the relationship . And relationships grow by communication. So the Spirit of God helps us to pray, to speak to God. In Ephesians 2, verse 18, which says that 'through him [through Jesus] we both [ Jews and Gentiles] have access to the Father by the Spirit.'  — the fact that we have access to God. There's nothing, if you like, between us and God.  St Paul writes later in Romans 8, he says: 'the Spirit helps us in our weakness' because we don't know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us. So he helps us in the relationship, he helps us to pray, and then also he helps us to understand God's word'. Paul prays in Ephesians that we would have 'the Spirit of wisdom and revelation so that we might know God better'. He prays that 'the eyes of our hearts may be enlightened' in order that we can understand.

The Holy Spirit brings the family likeness  

It's obvious, isn't it, that children very often look like their parents. The amazing thing is that they so often look like both parents, even if the parents look quite different from each other. But it's not just even a genetic thing; it's partly a genetic thing, but it's also, I think, spending time together. Isn't it amazing how husbands and wives often grow to look like each other! I even saw this program about owners and their dogs! It was uncanny — these people came on and they looked exactly like their dogs! They'd spent too long with them!

 

But St Paul says in 2 Corinthians 3:18, ' we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord's glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. ' So he's saying when the Spirit of God comes to live within a person, he will bring about this family likeness, becoming more like God, becoming more like Jesus.

 

How does this happen?  

In Galatians, chapter 5, verse 22 and 23, St Paul writes: 'But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control .' This is the Spirit of Jesus coming to make us more like Jesus.

 

So what are the characteristics the Spirit wants to bring to us? fruit of the Spirit

 

The first, and most i mportant, is love. When we experience God's love for us, the love of God being poured into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, that should flow out in love for God and love for other people.

Joy is very different from happiness. Nowhere are we guaranteed happiness as Christians. Some people have very difficult lives, many struggles that they have to cope with. But what the New Testament promises us is joy, which is far deeper. Richard Wurmbrand, who was imprisoned for many years in a former Communist country and tortured, sometimes on an almost daily basis, for his faith, he wrote this: 'Alone in my cell, cold, hungry and in rags, I danced for joy every night. Sometimes I was so filled with joy that I felt I would burst if I did not give it expression.'

 

Peace . Again, this is not a superficial peace but peace in the midst of trouble, anxiety, struggle. It's a peace which `passes understanding'. It's like a kind of deep ocean current. There might be a storm on the surface — wind and waves; but deep down an inner peace which comes from having peace with God. And it flows out in wanting to bring peace to others. Francis of Assisi — at least, attributed to Francis of Assisi — said: `Make me a channel, make me an instrument of your peace. Make me a peacemaker, help me to bring peace to this troubled world.' And then all the other wonderful characteristics: patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control . That's the family likeness .

The Spirit wants us to be united with one another.

We're meant to be an example to a troubled and divided world. Jesus prayed for the unity of the church. And the amazing thing is that we have a unity because we are sons and daughters of God. That makes us brothers and sisters.

St Paul writes in Ephesians 4, verse 3: 'Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit — just as you were called to one hope when you were called — one Lord , one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of us all, who is over all and through all and in all.' The Spirit of God lives in every Christian regardless of background, color, race, culture. And it's quite rare now that you get this sort of rather bigoted and arrogant attitude that 'We are the only Christians'.

GIFTS OF THE HOLY SPIRIT

Turn to 1 Corinthians 12:4–11, St Paul writes this. ' There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in everyone. ' 'Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good . To one there is given through the Spirit the message of wisdom , to another the message of knowledge by means of the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by that one Spirit, to another miraculous powers , to another prophecy , to another distinguishing between spirits, to another speaking in different kinds of tongues , and to still another the interpretation of tongues . All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he gives them to each one, just as he determines.' This is not an exhaustive list — in other lists of the Spirit we get gifts of service, encouraging, contributing to the needs of others, leade rship, showing mercy, evangelists, pastors — all kinds of gifts. But the point is that we need all of them . Paul's using the analogy of a body: the nose can't say `I'm more important than the eye'.

 

The church is not meant to be a kind of one-man show. Too often churches have become a sort of one-man show — the pastor does everything, or the vicar does everything, or the priest does everything. And the people are not doing anything! 

How can we be filled with the Spirit?

This family into which we are born, the family of God, is meant to be a growing family. One of the verses we looked at earlier was Acts 1, verse 8, where Jesus says that when the Spirit comes 'You will receive power … and you will be my witnesses.' In other words, 'other people will find out about me through what you do and what you say.'  And the church begins to grow. Every Christian has the Holy Spirit living within them. Paul writes: 'If anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, that person does not belong to Christ.' Yet not every Christian is filled with the Spirit. Because Paul writes to people who are already Christians and he gives them a command: 'Be filled with the Spirit' — How? How can we be filled with the Spirit? at Revelation, chapter 22, verse 17 — right at the end of the Bible. 'The Spirit [that's the Holy Spirit] and the bride [that's the bride of Christ, which is the church] — The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” Let all who hear say, `Come!” Let those who are thirsty come; let all who wish take the free gift of the water of life.'

聖神使我們成為天主的兒女

 

這是第一件事:我們成為天主的兒女。

羅馬書第 8 章是整個新約中最宏偉的章節之一。這有點像新約中的喜馬拉雅山,是一個高點。在羅馬書第 8 章第 1 和第 2 節,聖保祿寫道:「今後為那些在基督耶穌內的人,已無罪可定,因為在基督耶穌內賜與生命之神的法律,已使我獲得自由,脫離了罪惡與死亡的法律。」

 

耶穌在十字架上承擔了我們所有的罪——過去的、現在的、未來的。正如先知米該亞所說,祂帶走了我們所有的罪孽,並將它們埋葬在「深海」中,那就是它們要待的地方。我們來到基督面前的那一刻,石板就已被徹底擦乾淨了。接著更令人驚艷的事情發生了:我們與天主建立了關係——我們所有人都是天主創造的,但並不是每個人都像兒子或女兒與父母一樣生活在這種關係中。這不是因肉身出生而發生,而是因屬靈的出生而發生。如果整篇第 8 章是喜馬拉雅山,那在第 8 章第 14-17 節就像珠穆朗瑪峰!他是這樣說的:「因為凡受天主聖神引導的,都是天主的子女。其實你們所領受的聖神,並非使你們作奴隸,以致仍舊恐懼;而是使你們作義子。因此,我們呼號:『阿爸,父呀!』聖神親自和我們的心神一同作證:我們是天主的子女。我們既是子女,便是承繼者,是天主的承繼者,是基督的同承繼者;只要我們與基督一同受苦,也必要與他一同受光榮。」

「阿爸父」是一個關係非常親密的詞。這是耶穌獨有的一個詞。舊約中沒有任何地方將天主稱為阿爸,但耶穌用它來形容祂與天主的關係。

 

我們也可以有同樣的關係。天主可以成為你的父親,而這將是最深刻的體驗。人們都正在尋找,不是嗎?為了屬靈上的體驗,他們以各種的方式尋找。而這是你所能擁有最深刻的屬靈體驗——第 16 節:「聖神親自和我們的心神一同作證:我們是天主的子女。」

聖神的作用是什麼?

發展關係

 

聖神幫助我們發展這樣的關係。而關係的發展因著溝通而增長。因此,天主的聖神幫助我們祈禱,向天主說話。在厄弗所書第 2 章第 18 節說:「因為藉着他,我們雙方在一個聖神內,纔得以進到父面前。」——我們能夠通往天主那裡的事實。如果你願意,沒有任何東西阻隔在我們和天主之間。 聖保祿後來在羅馬書第 8 章26節中寫道:「同時,聖神也扶助我們的軟弱,因為我們不知道我們如何祈求纔對,而聖神卻親自以無可言喻的歎息,代我們轉求。」所以祂幫助我們建立關係,祂幫助我們祈禱,然後祂也幫助我們理解天主的話語。保祿在厄弗所書祈禱,希望「那光榮的父,把智慧和啟示的神恩,賜與你們,好使你們認識他」。同時,他也祈禱「光照你們心靈的眼目」,以便我們能夠理解。

聖神帶來家庭的相似

 

很明顯,不是嗎?孩子們經常看起來像他們的父母。令人驚奇的是,即使父母看起來彼此完全不同,但他們經常看起來像父母雙方。這甚至不僅僅是基因問題;在一定程度上是有某些遺傳因素,但我認為這也與共度時光有關。就像丈夫和妻子經常長得像對方,這不是很神奇嗎!我甚至看過這個關於主人和他們的狗的節目!這些人來了,他們看起來和他們的狗一模一樣,太不可思議了!他們和他們在一起的時間太長了!

 

但聖保祿在哥林多後書第 3 章18 節中說:「我們眾人以揭開的臉面反映主的光榮的,漸漸地光榮上加光榮,都變成了與主同樣的肖像,正如由主,即神在我們內所完成的。」所以他說當天主的神住在一個人裡面時,祂會帶來這種家庭的相似性,變得更像天主,變得更像耶穌。

 

這是怎麼發生的?

在迦拉達書第 5 章 22 和 23 節,聖保祿寫道:「然而聖神的效果卻是:仁愛、喜樂、平安、忍耐、良善、溫和、忠信、柔和、節制」,這是耶穌的神來使我們更像耶穌。

 

那麼聖神要帶給我們什麼特徵呢? 聖神的果實​

第一,也是最重要的,是。當我們體驗到天主對我們的愛時,天主的愛被聖神澆灌在我們心裡,那應該流露出對天主的愛和對他人的愛。

喜樂,與幸福大不相同。作為基督徒,我們無處保證幸福。有些人的生活非常艱難,他們必須應對許多鬥爭。但新約應許我們的是更深的喜樂。理查德·沃姆布蘭德 (Richard Wurmbrand) 曾在一個前共產主義國家被囚禁多年,並因其信仰而被折磨,有時幾乎每天遭受折磨。他這樣寫道:「我獨自一人在牢房裡,寒冷、飢餓、衣衫襤褸,我每逢夜晚都歡快地舞蹈。有時我是如此的被喜悅充滿,以至於我覺得如果我不表達出來,我就會崩潰。」

平安,同樣不是一種表面上的平安,而是在麻煩、焦慮和鬥爭中的平安。這是一種「超越理解」的和平,它就像一種深海洋流。表面上可能有風暴——風和浪;但內心深處有一種平靜是來自與天主的和平。它流露出希望給他人帶來和平。聖方濟亞西西(至少,歸功於聖方濟亞西西)說:「讓我成為一個渠道,讓我成為你和平的工具。讓我成為和平締造者,幫助我為這個動盪不安的世界帶來和平。」接著就是其他美妙的特徵:忍耐、良善、溫和、忠信、柔和、節制。這就是家庭的相像。

聖神希望我們彼此合一

 

在這個陷入困境和分裂的世界裡,我們注定要成為一個榜樣。耶穌曾經也為教會的合一祈禱。而令人驚奇的是,我們的合一是藉著我們是天主的兒女,這使我們成為兄弟姐妹。

聖保祿在厄弗所書第 4 章 3 至 6 節寫道:「盡力以和平的聯繫,保持心神的合一,因為只有一個身體和一個聖神,正如你們蒙召,同有一個希望一樣。只有一個主,一個信德,一個洗禮;只有一個天主和眾人之父,他超越眾人,貫通眾人,且在眾人之內。」無論背景、膚色、種族、文化如何,天主的神都住在每個基督徒身上。然而 現在你很少能得到這種「我們是唯一的基督徒」這種相當偏執和傲慢的態度了。

聖神的恩賜

 

轉向格林多前書第 12 章 4 至 11 節,聖保祿寫道:「神恩雖有區別,卻是同一的聖神所賜;職分雖有區別,卻是同一的主所賜;功效雖有區別,卻是同一的天主,在一切人身上行一切事。」「聖神顯示在每人身上雖不同,但全是為人的好處。這人從聖神蒙受了智慧的言語,另一人卻由同一聖神蒙受了知識的言語;有人在同一聖神內蒙受了信心,另有人在同一聖神內卻蒙受了治病的奇恩;有的能行奇蹟,有的能說先知話,有的能辨別神恩,有的能說各種語言,有的能解釋語言:可是,這一切都是這惟一而同一的聖神所行的,隨他的心願,個別分配與人。」這不是一個詳盡的清單——在其他聖神的禮物清單中,我們得到服務、鼓勵、幫助他人的需要、領導、憐憫、傳福音、牧靈——各種恩賜。但關鍵是我們需要所有這些。保祿使用身體來做比喻,好比:鼻子不能說「我比眼睛更重要」。

 

教會並不意味著是一種單人表演。教會常常成為一種獨角戲--牧師做一切,或神父做一切,而人們卻什麼都不做!

我們怎樣才能被聖神充滿?

 

我們出生的這個家庭,即天主的家庭,注定是一個不斷成長的家庭。我們之前看過的其中一節經文是宗徒大事錄第 1 章 8 節,其中耶穌說:「當聖神降臨於你們身上時,你們將充滿聖神的德能,要在耶路撒冷及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為我作證人。」換句話說,「其他人會通過你們的所作所為和你說的話來了解我。」然後,教會開始成長,每個基督徒都有聖神住在他們裡面。保祿又寫道:「誰若沒有基督的聖神,誰就不屬於基督」然而,並不是每個基督徒都被聖神充滿。因為保祿寫信給已經是基督徒的人,他給了他們一個命令:「被聖神充滿」——怎麼做呢?我們怎樣才能被聖神充滿?就在聖經的末端,默示錄第 22 章 17 節——「聖神(那是聖神)和新娘(那是基督的新娘,即是教會)都說:『你來罷!』凡聽見的也要說;『你來罷!』凡口渴的,請來罷!凡願意的,可白白領取生命的水。」