Who is Holy Spirit?

The Holy Spirit was involved in creation: 
' In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters .' Like a bird hovering over her nest, waiting. And the Spirit of God was about to bring something new into being. The whole Trinity were involved in creation. God the Father, the Creator, created the world through Jesus by his Spirit. The Holy Spirit brings – out of the chaos he brings the cosmos; out of disorder he brings order; out of confusion, harmony; out of deformity he brings beauty; out of oldness, he brings newness. 

He brings life to human beings: 
Genesis 2, verse 7: '… the LORD God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life , and the man became a living being.'
 
The Hebrew word for the Holy Spirit in Genesis 1, verse 1 is rûah [רוח .[ And it's a very similar word to the word that's used here for `breath'. And in fact generally speaking the word `breath' in the Old Testament is translated by the Hebrew word rûah — the same word for `breath' and `Spirit'. So that, just as when God gave human beings physical life, he breathed on them his rûah , the Spirit of God.
Jesus breathed on the disciples and said, `Receive the Holy Spirit.' And one of the things that happen when the Spirit of God comes to live within …
Sometimes you can almost see it on people's faces. You can see almost — sometimes there's almost like a deadness in people's eyes, and then the Spirit of God comes to live within them and you can see it's like life comes into the person's face.

In the Old Testament,

the  Spirit of God came upon particular people at particular times for particular tasks.

For example, on Bezalel — Exodus chapter 31, verses 1-5: 'Then the Lord said to Moses, "See I have chosen Bezalel son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with skill, ability and knowledge in all kinds of crafts — to make artistic designs for work in gold, silver and bronze, to cut and set stones, to work in wood, and to engage in all kinds of crafts. ”' So here the Spirit of the Lord came upon a person for artistic work.

 

 

The Spirit of God comes on particular people — on Bezalel, and then on Gideon for leadership — Judges chapter 6, verses 14 and 15: 'The Lord turned to him [that is, to Gideon] and said, “Go in the strength you have and save Israel out of Midian's hand. Am I not sending you?” “But Lord,” Gideon asked, “how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.” He felt inadequate, ill-equipped. And God says to him, `No, I want you to go. I want you to go and set the people free.' Now, how can he do that? Judges chapter 6, verse 34: ' Then the Spirit of the Lord came upon Gideon ' — and that is what turned him into a great leader. When the Holy Spirit comes upon a man or a woman, he can transform us.

 

Then on Samson for power and strength — Judges chapter 15, verse 14. Still, this is particular people at particular times for particular tasks. Here the Spirit of the Lord came upon Samson — second half of verse 14: 'The Spirit of the Lord came upon him [that is, Samson] in power. The ropes on his arms became like charred flax, and the bindings dropped from his hands.' So often we find that what is described in the Old Testament in a physical way is true in the New Testament in a spiritual way. The Spirit of God wants to set us free.

 

 

And then Isaiah for prophecy. Isaiah chapter 61, verses 1-3:  'The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the broken-hearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners , to proclaim the year of the LORD'S favour and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion—to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.' Prophecy in the Bible is not so much foretelling; it's more forth-telling The experience of the Holy Spirit is not just that we should have some 'nice, warm feeling in our hearts and feel good'! The experience of the Spirit is in order that we should go out and make a difference to our world.

HE WAS PROMISED BY THE FATHER

And as we go on through the Old Testament there is a rising sense of anticipation: that God is going to do something even more amazing. And this is referred to as `the promise of the Father'. In one sense you could sum up the whole Old Testament in one word: `promise'.

 

So what exactly is this promise? Would you like to turn to Jeremiah chapter 31, verse 33?: '“This is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after that time,” declares the LORD. “I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will they teach their neighbours, and say to one another, `Know the LORD,' because they will all know me , from the least of them to the greatest,” declares the LORD. “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”’ Under the old covenant, the Old Testament, the people of God were given the law. And the law was written on tablets of stone. And they looked at these laws and they said, `Wow, they're great laws — don't kill, don't steal, don't commit adultery, don't covet, don't want things that belong to somebody else.' They said, `These are great laws. If we lived like this, we'd have a great society.' And then they tried to live like that, and they found they couldn't. And so the law, instead of becoming a blessing, it was just this great burden on them — they were trying desperately to keep it, but they were failing constantly. And God says: `I'm going to do something new. This is my promise. Instead of the law being outside — something that you are trying to keep but fail,' he said, `I'm going to put it inside so that you really want to do it, it comes from your hearts.'

How can the promise of the Father be fulfilled? In Ezekiel 36:26, God says this: 'I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you a heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.' That's how he does it — by the Holy Spirit coming to live within us.

 

To whom does this promise apply? To whom is this promise going to be fulfilled? Joel chapter 3, verse 1 — this is what God says: 'For afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy [it's regardless of sex], your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions [it's regardless of age]. Even on my servants [it's regardless of background, race, color, rank], both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days.' — it's for everyone!

 

On all people. The promise of the Father. Yet this promise remained unfulfilled. The people were waiting. And they waited and they waited. They waited for hundreds of years! And then, with the birth of Jesus, it's like a trumpet sounds. And everybody connected with the birth of Jesus is filled with the Holy Spirit. In Luke chapter 1, verse 15,  John the Baptist, who was to prepare the way for Jesus —'he will be filled with the Holy Spirit even from birth' . In Luke 1, verse 35. The angel said to Mary, the mother of Jesus: 'The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called the Son of God.' Elizabeth: the moment that she came into the presence of Jesus, still in his mother's womb — verse 41: 'When Elizabeth heard Mary's greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. '  Even Zechariah, the father of John the Baptist — verse 67: 'His father Zechariah was filled with the Holy Spirit and prophesied …

JOHN THE BAPTIST LINKS PROMISE OF FATHER WITH JESUS

In Luke chapter 3, verse 16: 'John answered them all, "I baptize you with water. But one more powerful than I will come, the thongs of whose sandals I'm not worthy to untie. He [that is, Jesus] will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire."' Baptism with water is important, but it's not enough. Jesus is the Spirit baptizer. In the secular Greek, the word `baptize' meant `to overwhelm, to immerse, to plunge , to drench'. It was the word that was used of if a ship sunk — it was baptized, it was overwhelmed, water everywhere, inside. And that's what the Spirit wants to do — he wants to drench us, overwhelm us, fill us.  

Jesus himself was completely full of the Holy Spirit–chapter 3, verse 22: 'The Holy Spirit descended on him' — that is, on Jesus — 'in bodily form like a dove'. Chapter 4, verse 1: 'Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit …' Verse 14: 'Jesus returned to Galilee in the power of the Spirit …' Verse 18: He says, 'The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he's anointed me to preach good news to the poor. '

JESUS PREDICTS HIS PRESENCE

And then Jesus predicts the coming of the Spirit — John chapter 7, verse 37: 'On the last and greatest day of the Feast, — this was the Feast of Tabernacles that Jesus had gone to — Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, 'If anyone is thirsty, come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, will have streams of living water flowing from within.'  

Water, of course, in that context there — this is a society living on the edge of the desert. They knew that they were reliant on water for plant life, animal life, every kind of life! And water symbolizes life. And Jesus is saying the Holy Spirit brings life.

 

'I'm going to send you what my Father has promised' — the promise of the Father — 'but stay in the city until you have been clothed with power from on high.' And then Jesus ascended, and still, the promise had not been fulfilled. And they waited. Acts, chapter 1, verse 4: 'On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: "Do not leave Jerusalem but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you 've heard me speak about. For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit ."

 

Verse 8: 'You will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.' People's reactions were mixed. In chapter 2, some people said, 'Oh, that's absolutely amazing! This is wonderful!' — verse 7. Others — verse 12 — were 'amazed and perplexed' they thought: `Wow, this is amazing, but it's a bit perplexing!' Others said , "Ho!" They 'made fun of them' — verse 13: 'They've had too much wine.' 'These people are drunk!' In other words, something amazing was happening and they didn't know how to explain it, so they gave a natural explanation that was something actually supernatural. And Peter gets up and he says, 'Let me give you the true explanation!' He said, 'Let me explain this to you … These people' — verse 15, he says — 'These people are not drunk, as you suppose. It's only nine o'clock in the morning! No, [he says] this is …' the promise, this is Biblical, this is what was promised in the Old Testament: 'In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people.' And then he says something even more amazing. He says: 'This is for you.' Verse 37: 'When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, "Brothers, what shall we do?"' 'Peter replied, "Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit."' '"The promise is for you" — every one of you — "and your children" — not just those standing there, but the next generation — "and for all who are far off" — "for all whom the Lord our God will call."'

 

This is the amazing promise of the Father – the gift of the Holy Spirit is no longer just for particular people at particular times for particular tasks; it's for everyone. It's for you, and for you, and for you, and for you! Because we now live in the age of the Holy Spirit.  

 

In John, chapter 3 and verses 3–8. This is Jesus talking to Nicodemus: 'In reply, Jesus declared, “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God without being born again.” “How can anyone be born in old age?” Nicodemus asked. “Surely they cannot enter a second time into their mother's womb to be born!” Jesus answered, “I tell you the truth, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, `You must be born again.' The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

And Jesus is saying as well as physical birth we need a new spiritual birth. Every Christian has the Holy Spirit living within them. And until we come to Christ, of course, the Spirit created us, the Spirit is convincing us about our sin, our need for Jesus; but there is a different type of relationship that we have with the Holy Spirit when he comes to live within us. It's qualitatively different.

And so it is when we come to Christ, when the Spirit of God comes to live within us — that's not the end, that's the beginning . And what I want to look at in this session is what happens when the Spirit of God comes to live within a man or a woman. What is the impact of that? What's the effect?

誰是聖神?

聖神參與了創造:
「在起初天主創造了天地。大地還是混沌空虛,深淵上還是一團黑暗,天主的神在水面上運行。」就像一隻鳥在她的巢上盤旋,等待。上主的神即將帶來一些新事物。整個三位一體都參與了創造。天父【創造者】,通過耶穌聖言用祂的神創造了世界。聖神【帶來】——從混亂中帶來宇宙;從無序中帶來秩序;從混亂中帶來和諧;從畸形中帶來美麗;從陳舊中帶來新生。 

祂給人類帶來生命:

創世記第 2 章第 7 節:「…上主天主用地上的灰土形成了人,在他鼻孔內吹了一口生氣,人就成了一個有靈的生物。」
 
創世記 1 章第 1 節中,聖神的希伯來語詞是 rûah [רוח .[這個詞與此處用來表示「呼吸」的詞非常相似。事實上,一般來說,舊約中的「呼吸」一詞是由希伯來語 rûah 翻譯的——「呼吸」和「精神」是同一個詞。因此,就像天主賜予人類生命一樣,他向他們吹了他的 rûah,即上主的神。


耶穌向門徒吹一口氣,說:「你們領受聖神吧。」當天主的神住在裡面時會發生的事情之一…


有時你幾乎可以在人們的臉上看到它。你幾乎可以看到——有時人們的眼睛幾乎是死氣沉沉的,然後天主的神來住在他們裡面,你可以看到就像生命進入了這個人的臉上。

在舊約中,

天主的神在特定的時間,為了特定的任務,降臨在特定的人身上。

例如,在貝匝肋耳來——出谷紀第31章1-5節:「上主訓示梅瑟說:『看,從猶大支派,我已召叫了胡爾的孫子,烏黎的兒子貝匝肋耳來,以天主的神充滿了他,叫他有智慧、技能和知識,能製造各種工程,能設計圖案,能用金、銀、銅製造器物,能雕刻寶石,鑲嵌,雕刻木頭,製造各種工程。』」所以在這裡,主的神降臨在一個從事藝術工作的人身上。

天主的神降臨在特定的人身上——在貝匝肋耳來身上,然後在基德紅身上作領導——民長紀第 6 章第 14 和 15 節:「上主注視他說:『憑你這種力量,你去拯救以色列脫離米德楊人的掌握。看,是我派遣你。』他回答說:『我主,請原諒!我憑什麼拯救以色列?看,我家在默納協支派中是最卑微的,我在我父親家中又是最小的一個。』」他覺得自己不合適,裝備不足。天主對他說,「不,我要你去。我希望你去釋放人們。」現在,他怎麼能做到這一點呢?民長紀第 6 章 34 節:「那時,上主的神充滿了基德紅」——這就是使他成為偉大領袖的原因。 當聖神降臨在一個人身上時,祂可以改變我們。

 

接著就是關於三松的權力和力量——民長紀第 15 章第 14 節。不過,這是特定的人在特定的時間執行特定的任務。在這裡,上主的神降在三松身上——第 14 節的後半部分:「 那時上主的神突然降在他(即三松)身上,他手臂上的繩索,好像着火的細麻一樣,綁他的繩子從他的手上落下。」因此,我們經常發現,在舊約中以物質方式描述的東西,在新約中以屬靈方式描述是真實的。天主的神想要釋放我們。

然後依撒依亞的預言。依撒依亞先知書第 61 章 1-3 節:「吾主上主的神臨到我身上,因為上主給我傅了油,派遣我向貧苦的人傳報喜訊,治療破碎了的心靈,向俘虜宣告自由,釋放獄中的囚徒,宣佈上主恩慈的喜年,揭示我們天主報仇的日期,安慰一切憂苦的人,給熙雍悲哀的人一項冠冕來代替灰塵,喜樂的油以代替喪服,頌讚以代替沮喪的心神。他們將被稱為正義的橡樹,上主為光榮自己所種植的園地。」聖經中的預言與其說是預言,不如說是提前告知。對於經驗到聖神,不僅僅是我們應該有的一些「美好的、在我們心中溫暖的感覺,感覺很好!」的感受;經驗聖神是為了讓我們走出去,為我們的世界帶來改變。

父親應許祂

隨著我們繼續閱讀舊約,人們越來越期待:天主會做一些更令人驚奇的事情。這被稱為「父的應許」。從某種意義上說,你可以用一個詞來概括整個舊約:「應許」。

 

那麼這個承諾到底是什麼呢?你想翻到耶肋米亞先知書 31 章 33 節嗎?:「我願在那些時日後,與以色列家訂立的盟約──上主的斷語──就是:我要將我的法律放在他們的肺腑裏,寫在他們的心頭上;我要作他們的天主,他們要作我的人民。那時,誰也不再教訓自己的近人或兄弟說:『你們該認識上主,』因為不論大小,人人都必認識我──上主的斷語──因為我要寬恕他們的過犯,不再記憶他們的罪惡。」在舊盟約中,即是舊約中,天主的子民得到了律法。律法是寫在石版上的。他們看著這些法律 他們說,「哇,它們是偉大的法律——不殺生、不偷竊、不通姦、不貪婪、不拿屬於別人的東西。」他們說:「這些是偉大的法律。如果我們這樣生活,我們就會擁有一個偉大的社會。」然後他們試圖那樣生活,但他們發現他們做不到。因此,律法非但沒有成為祝福,反而對他們造成了巨大的負擔——他們拼命想要遵守,卻他們不斷失敗。上主說:「我要做一些新的事情。這是我的承諾。不是外在的法律——那些你試圖遵守卻失敗的東西,」他說,「我要把它放在裡面,這樣你們就真的想做它,它來自你的內心。」

天父的應許如何實現?在厄則克爾先知書 36 章 26 節,上主說:「我還要賜給你們一顆新心,在你們五內放上一種新的精神,從你們的肉身內取去鐵石的心,給你們換上一顆血肉的心。我要將我的神賜於你們五內,使你們遵行我的規律,恪守我的誡命,且一一實行。」祂就是這樣做的——通過聖神住在我們心裡面。

 

這個應許適用於誰?這個應許將要在誰的身上兌?岳厄爾先知書第 3章 1節——「此後──上主的斷語──我要將我的神傾注在一切有血肉的人身上:你們的兒子們和你們的女兒們要說預言,你們的老人要看夢境,你們的青年要見神視;在那些日子裏,甚至在奴僕和婢女身上,我也要傾注我的神。」——- 这是给每个人的!

 

天父的應許在所有人身上。然而,這個承諾仍然沒有兌現。人們在等待。他們等了又等。他們等了幾百年!然後,隨著耶穌的誕生,就像號角響起。每個與耶穌誕生有關的人都被聖神充滿。在路加福音第 1 章第 15 節,為耶穌預備道路的洗者若翰——「他還在母胎中就要充滿聖神」。在路加福音 1 章 35 節,天使對耶穌的母親瑪利亞說:「聖神要臨於你,至高者的能力要庇廕你,因此,那要誕生的聖者,將稱為天主的兒子。」依撒伯爾:耶穌還在他母親的子宮裡,依撒伯爾來到耶穌面前的那一刻,——第 41 節:「依撒伯爾一聽到瑪利亞請安,胎兒就在她的腹中歡躍。依撒伯爾遂充滿了聖神。 」甚至洗者若翰的父親匝加利亞——第 67 節:「他的父親匝加利亞充滿了聖神,遂預言說:……」

洗者若翰將天主的應許與耶穌聯繫起來

在路加福音 3 章 16 節:「若翰便向眾人說道:『我固然以水洗你們,但是比我強的一位要來,就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配。他要以聖神和火洗你們。』」 水的洗禮很重要,但這還不夠。耶穌是聖神的施洗者。在世俗的希臘語中,「洗禮”一詞的意思是“淹沒、浸入、浸入、浸透」。這是一艘船沉沒時使用的詞——它被洗禮了、它被淹沒了,裡面到處都是水。這就是聖神想要做的——祂想要浸透我們,淹沒我們,充滿我們。 

耶穌自己完全被聖神充滿——第 3 章第 22 節:「聖神藉着一個形像,如同鴿子,降在他上邊」。第 4 章第 1 節:「耶穌充滿聖神…」 第 14 節:「耶穌因聖神的德能,回到加里肋亞…」第 18 節:他說:「『上主的神臨於我身上,因為他給我傅了油,派遣我向貧窮人傳報喜訊…』」

耶穌預言他的臨在

然後耶穌預言了聖神的降臨——若望福音 7 章 37 節:「在慶節末日最隆重的那一天,耶穌站着大聲喊說:『誰若渴,到我這裏來喝罷!凡信從我的,就如經上說:從他的心中要流出活水的江河。』」

 

當然,这是一个生活在沙漠边缘的社会,在那里的背景下,他们當然知道,他们的植物生命、动物生命、每一种生命都依赖于水!而水象征着生命。而耶稣说,圣神带来了生命。

 

「我要把我父所應許的賜給你」——父的應許——「但你要留在城裡,直到你披戴上天的能力。」然後耶穌升天了,應許仍然沒有實現,而他們繼續等待著。宗徒大事錄第 1 章 4 節:「耶穌與他們一起進食時,吩咐他們不要離開耶路撒冷,但要等候父的恩許,即你們聽我所說過的:『若翰固然以水施了洗,但不多幾天以後,你們要因聖神受洗。』」

第 8 節:「但當聖神降臨於你們身上時,你們將充滿聖神的德能,要在耶路撒冷及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為我作證人。」人們的反應不一。在第2章,有的人,「他們驚訝奇怪地說:『看,這些說話的不都是加里肋亞人嗎?』」 ——第 7 節。其他人(第 12 節)感到「驚訝猶豫」:他們想,『這是甚麼事?』;其他人卻「譏笑」——第 13 節:『他們喝醉了酒!』。換句話說,一些驚人的事情正在發生,他們不知道如何解釋,所以他們給出了一個自然的解釋,實際上是超自然的東西。伯多祿起身說:「請你們留意,側耳靜聽我的話!」——第 15 節,他說——「這些人並不像你們所設想的喝醉了,因為纔是白天第三時辰;反而這是藉岳厄爾先知所預言的:『到末日──天主說──我要將我的神傾注在所有有血肉的人身上…』」然後他說了一句更驚人的話。他說:「這是為你們的」。第 37 節:「他們一聽見這些話,就心中刺痛,遂向伯多祿和其他宗徒說:『諸位仁人弟兄!我們該作甚麼?』伯多祿便對他們說:『你們悔改罷!你們每人要以耶穌基督的名字受洗,好赦免你們的罪過,並領受聖神的恩惠。因為這恩許就是為了你們和你們的子女,以及一切遠方的人,因為都是我們的上主天主所召叫的。』」

 

這是天父令人驚奇的應許——聖神的恩賜不再只是在特定時間為特定任務提供給特定的人;它是為每個人而設。為你、為你、為你,也為你!因為我們現在生活在聖神的時代。  

 

在若望福音第 3 章和第 3-8 節中,這是耶穌對尼苛德摩說的話:「耶穌回答說:『我實實在在告訴你:人除非由上而生,不能見到天主的國。』尼苛德摩說:『人已年老,怎樣能重生呢?難道他還能再入母腹而重生嗎?』耶穌回答說:『我實實在在告訴你:人除非由水和聖神而生,不能進天主的國:由肉生的屬於肉,由神生的屬於神。你不要驚奇,因我給你說了:你們應該由上而生。風隨意向那裏吹,你聽到風的響聲,卻不知道風從那裏來,往那裏去:凡由聖神而生的就是這樣。』」

耶穌說,除了肉身的出生,我們還需要一個新的屬靈出生。每個基督徒都有聖神住在他們裡面。直到我們來到基督面前(當然的,聖神創造了我們),聖神說服我們認識自己的罪,讓我們知道我們需要耶穌;但是當聖神住在我們裡面時,我們與他的關係就不同了。這是在質上的不同。

因此,當天主的神住在我們裡面時,也就是當我們來到基督面前的時候,但這不是意味著結束,而是開始。我想在本章中看到的是,當天主的神住在一個人的裡面時會發生什麼。它的影響是什麼?有什麼影響?